A wonderful find for the Patio!

I finally took the plunge and set up the patio furniture a week before Mother’s Day when the weather actually started to hover in the 40s and 50s on a consistent basis with hopes of 60s and 70s soon thereafter. Alas, yesterday was only in the 50s but rain wasn’t forecasted until later in the day so I decided to hit the plant nursery and pick up a few annuals for containers on the patio. As you know, my dezine philosophy is to start with one object that you love and build from there. For the patio, it’s a wonderful multi-tonal umbrella purchased at Crate and Barrel, www.crateandbarrel.com last summer. I’ll post pictures of the umbrella and patio another time to give you a better idea, but for now, my focus is on an unexpected find from a little store called Target, www.target.com.

I decided to stop by Target since it was on the way to the nursery, and while hunting for an item on my errand list, I stumbled past the outdoor furniture area and saw these purple colored pots in multiple sizes. The reason it caught my eye is because the umbrella I mentioned actually has various shades of orange, purple and pink and so the purple pot was perfect! And priced at under $6 and $3 for the large and small sizes respectively, I couldn’t beat that. They’re extremely light weight yet will hold up to whatever Mother Nature throws at it during the summer season and the shape is simple and opens wide at the top, perfect for adding potting mix and plantings. I ended up getting 3 of the large and 2 of the small planters to integrate with my dark gray planters I’ve had for several years.

I managed to set up all my planters before the rain came and despite the dark and dreary skies the last 24 hours, the purple containers are truly a bright spot on the patio. You don’t have to pay an arm and a leg for great dezine, you just have to stick with a plan/theme and keep an eye out for that next great find, wherever you may be!

Best regards, DPC

About Danny @ 1227 Foster

Blogger who's into all things food, travel and design. Come visit me at 1227foster.com

Posted on May 15, 2011, in Landscape Dezine and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

